Settling in - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu Settling in - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu

Settling in

Door: Carine

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

22 Februari 2008 | Australië, Adelaide

Welcome to the next stage of my Down Under Adventures… I have arrived in Adelaide last Sunday and after three interesting and fun seminar days, I took up my residency on campus yesterday. The room is way bigger than I had expected and since the units are only 5 years old, everything is pretty modern. I met two of my house mates by now, and they both seem to be nice girls. Did some massive grocery shopping yesterday and had a big long sleep last night, got my internet set up and a bank account opened today and I unpacked all my stuff this morning so I’m slowly starting to settle in!!

Well, Melbourne seems like a long time ago already, but since I haven’t told you much about it yet, that’s where I’ll start anyway. My week in Melbourne pretty much consisted of sleeping off my jetlag, catching up with friends while enjoying breakfast/ coffee/ lunch/ dinner/ … and me just loving the fact that I could do that :) I noticed it last time and I noticed it this time too: everything feels so normal about being there and almost as if I haven’t been gone for a long time at all that it’s almost scary. Somehow I’m always afraid the easiness of coming back into my old Aussie life comes at a price. Either way, I loved my week of spending time with lots of people I love again :)

So just to give you all a short rundown of my week in Melbourne, here goes… So arrived safely on the Saturday night and I took it pretty easy my next two days in Melbourne, as I was a bit dazed from jetlag still. Hungry at the weirdest times and waking up way too early in the mornings to feel sleepy in the afternoons. Tuesday was sort of the first day things started to feel a little bit more normal again, and Tuesday also happened to be the day I met up with Kim and Mel again!! Very awesome, I love those girls so much :) Wednesday was of course the day of the apology, so I got up early to watch Kevin Rudd’s speech on TV. Then on to Knox to have coffee with Jess later that morning, which was also very good.

Valentines Day the next day was probably my busiest day of the week, as I first met up with Chloe in the city. Turned out she and her friend Verity were selling roses they made themselves. Also turned out Kaye was joining us!! So that was a very exciting afternoon :) We just had some lunch with the four of us and then Kaye had to go and Chloe, Verity and me walked around Fed Square and Southbank trying to sell some more roses… Funny the stories you hear from complete strangers when you’re trying to sell them self-made roses :) In the evening Phoebe and I made our way to Kim’s place as it was going to be our ‘single girls Valentines Day night out’. Amanda joined us too, having just come back from 6 weeks of London the previous night. We heard all about her trip (and that’s an understatement, haha, Amanda talks A LOT). So we get ready, get in the car, drive around for about an hour before finally admitting to each other no one really feels like going out anyway, haha. So we end up back at Kim’s place just talking and hearing more about Amanda’s London adventures. Good night though :)

Then it was Friday already… one week into my exchange. Went shopping in the day and had dinner with Martine at this funky Iranian/Persian restaurant in the evening and way too good gelato at the Italian next to it after. Different as always with Martine :) Had a great night with her, Martine is some special lady… Saturday was my last full day in good old Vermont, which started off with breakfast and the movie Juno with Phoebe and her friend Laura. Even with having heard all the punch lines off dad and Seth during the week before, it was a really awesome movie. Go see it if you haven’t done so yet!! And then Sunday came… the day I was flying to Adelaide!! But not before doing breakfast with my Melly :) Very nice, both the company and the food, haha. Then she offered to take me to the airport too, which was so nice!! Saved me taking the public transport in too… So I said goodbye to the lovely Corbetts and then Mel and I set off for the airport. We got lost along the way (according to Mel getting lost on the way to the airport was part of experiencing Australian culture, haha), did some U-turns where it wasn’t exactly allowed, but eventually we got there more than on time. Said goodbye to her and then before I knew it I was in Adelaide!! Will write more about that some other time this week to break it all up for you guys (and me too…) or this blog-update really gets way too long.

All in all I had an amazing week in Melbourne. Not just because of everything I mentioned above, but also because of random things. Spending time with the Corbetts and being part of their daily life again just for a little while. Seeing people I love smile and hearing them talk in real life. Have them close by… Just beautiful :) My love to all of you.
xx


PS. Thanks to all who left comments, always love hearing from you :)
Liefs.

  • 22 Februari 2008 - 14:35

    Froukje:

    Hey!!!! Leuk om weer van je te horen! Terwijl jij je settled in Adelaide, settel ik me hier in Utrecht:). Gister voor het eerst (sinds een maand!!) wezen stappen met Li-Shi en Maaike! Was gezellig! Sta deze week ook in het U-blad over mijn uitwisseling... maar in dat artikel lijkt het echt net alsof ik alleen maar in de zon heb gezeten.. Ik moet zeggen dat ik het herken over je zo snel thuisvoelen in Australie. Ik denk dat de prijs die je daar voor betaald, het je niet snel thuisvoelen in Nederland bij terugkomst is. Die betaal ik nu dus... maar begin me al steeds beter te voelen in dit koude kikkerlandje. Geniet maar lekker van Australie en succes met de studie!

  • 22 Februari 2008 - 23:01

    Mum:

    You are an expert! Bank account opened, groceries bought,internet set up, feeling settled already. I think the exchange lifestly suits you.
    :-)

  • 25 Februari 2008 - 12:01

    Melly Xoxo:

    Hey Gorgeous!!!
    I love hearing all your little adventures hehe! Was my pleasure taking you to the airport...we ended up at the Zoo..typical Mel-style, get lost when we're on a deadline, but funny all the same! Went out on Satty night for mine and Al's birthday and we had a blast, I even got him dancing haha...I'm bummed you couldn't be there. but look forward to seeing you soon!
    Much love, Mel xoxo

  • 25 Februari 2008 - 14:52

    Maaike:

    Hee Carine! Leuk verhaal en leuke foto's! Erg grappig dat jullie uiteindelijke niet meer uit zijn gegaan...dat komt me bekend voor :p Maar we zijn inderdaad vorige week wel gegaan..tot verbazing van onszelf en lydia :p Misschien gaan we nu toch maar wat vaker..het is meestal ook wel heel erg leuk! En Juno hebben li-shi en ik laatst ook net gezien :p leuke film idd! Hopelijk horen we snel weer wat, altijd leuk om te lezen. (alleen wel erg SOG stimulerend :P)

  • 27 Februari 2008 - 19:37

    Emely:

    Wowow gaaf allemaal en dat voor een "studiereisje". Zeg volgende week gaan er nog "vrienden van vrienden van me" naar Melbourne, dus als je hollanders (achterhoekers(L)) met de namen Tom en Erik tegenkomt, doe ze de groeten, ghehe!

    Veel plezier nog!
    Je nichtje..

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Adelaide

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Augustus 2008

Back among the Dutch

14 Augustus 2008

One more time

08 Augustus 2008

More photos

02 Augustus 2008

Final week in NZ

24 Juli 2008

Rainy days make for long updates =)
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 236
Totaal aantal bezoekers 191040

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Februari 2008 - 16 Augustus 2008

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

05 Augustus 2004 - 01 Juli 2005

AFS exchange

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Life's journey...

Landen bezocht: