Catching that wave... - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu Catching that wave... - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu

Catching that wave...

Door: Carine

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

05 Maart 2008 | Australië, Adelaide

I don’t know why, but sometimes it feels like a week has passed in just one day. I’ve lived in my unit for barely two weeks and already it seems like I have been here in the village for months. My big empty desk is covered in paper and junk (although I have to admit, it only takes me about a day to do that…), and I’m starting to get a havaiana tan on my feet coz those thongs are all I wear during the day. When I walk through the village, I almost always bump into at least one person I know. I am surprised by how many people already seem to know my name around here. I am still struggling to link a name to their familiar faces. But meeting new people and networking seems to be so easy here coz there’s so many around to meet. Even though it’s all still very casual and superficial at the moment, I think there’s some pretty good people here that I’m looking forward to getting to know better over the next couple of months :)

And then of course there’s uni… Uni is the best work-out for me there is!! It’s about a 10 minute walk to the main campus and it’s hilly and I can feel it in my legs every day when walking up :) Buses to the city or to Marion (the nearest shopping centre) are also on main campus, so whenever I want to go somewhere off campus, I have to make that 10-minute walk. I am walking quite a bit… To continue on the uni-theme, I am also happy to report that my subjects appear to be quite good. This has been my first week of classes and by now I’ve had all the introductory classes of my 3 subjects. Beforehand I was a bit worried if I would like my two Women’s Studies subjects as they weren’t my first choice, but I think they are going to be interesting.

Anyway, now that O-week has finished and uni has started my updates will probably become less frequent again after this one, but for now I still have quite some updating to do!! I'll try to keep it short... First of all of course there was the big night out last Thursday that was on the agenda at “The Tav”, the local bar on campus. Pre-drinks were at ours and heaps of people came over before we all made our way up to Tav, where we pretty much danced until it closed. Good times, I really enjoyed myself :)

Lazy 'after party' days followed and we all didn’t really get all that active again until Sunday, which was the day of our surfing trip!! Heather, Pip and I and about 20 others had signed up for it, so around noon we went down to Goolwa for 2 hours of surfing. I was very excited about going surfing as I absolutely love the rush of catching a wave and just being in the surf. I’m terrible with standing up on the board (Coen, I think I might need some private tutoring from a surf instructor like you to fix that, haha) but so were many of the others of our group, so hardly anyone noticed I was really crap at that :) Our collective attempts at surfing resulted in a great day at the beach full of fun and laughter at our poor surfing skills and in bruises on my sides and very sore limbs the next days. Loved it.

Other than that, it’s just random nights really. Tomorrow is going to be a night out on the town again at Shenanigans/Shags down at Marion with a few people. Should be good… Monday I am meeting up really early with Martine somewhere in Adelaide before she flies back to Melbourne and then Thursday arvo I am flying to Melbourne myself for a few days for Kim’s 21st on the weekend. Excitement all around :)

Enough about me for now. Heard a rumour that there was snow in parts of Holland, so if that rumour is true, enjoy the no doubt beautiful white landscape those who are on that side of the world!! I am currently in love with the beauty of air-conditioning as it is low 30s over here in Adelaide :) Anyway, I always love hearing from you and I hope everyone’s well.
Love Carine

  • 05 Maart 2008 - 16:25

    Li-Shi:

    Yeah, I'm the first! hihi... nou ga niet veel zeggen hoor (t lijkt alsof ik niet veel beters te doen heb :P). Kijk maar op je facebook, heb daar net op je wall gepost.
    Zo jaloers, wil ook dat het mooi warmer weer wordt. Gisteren sneeuwde het idd een beetje hier in Utrecht, maar het bleef helaas niet liggen. Vandaag heeft de zon wel geschenen, maar heb de halve dag binnen gezeten in mijn pyjama...:P ..
    Ik lees dat je alweer nieuwe plannen hebt;
    Have (iig) lots and lots of fun! xXx

  • 05 Maart 2008 - 18:22

    Froukje:

    Heeeey!! Nu alweer naar Melbourne?? Je bent net terug! Haha, dat van de village komt me zo bekend voor! Ik woonde een minuutje lopen van uni, maar deed er altijd veel langer over omdat je zo veel bekenden tegenkomt. Iedereen is daar natuurlijk alleen gaan studeren (zonder fam en friends), dus je maakt heel makkelijk contact met iedereen en hebt in een keer 100 nieuwe vrienden ofzo (als je daar tijd voor hebt). Succes met uni, heb een goede vlucht naar Melbourne & enjoy the party!! Cheers

  • 05 Maart 2008 - 19:02

    Lydia:

    Ben jaloers op je hoor!! Surfen en gewoon warm weer!! Hier is het kooouuudd.. gisteren was een rare dag, zon en hagel wisselden elkaar af :P Maar verder is het hier goed:) Ik hou mezelf bezig ;) Geniet er nog van he! XLied

  • 05 Maart 2008 - 21:55

    Li-yu:

    Jaaa tis hier echt koud!! Wil ook lekker warm weer! Maar sneeuw?!? Heb k dan toch echt gemist gister ook al was ik de hele dag buiten... :-S Wel hagel!

  • 13 Maart 2008 - 17:16

    Li-yu:

    Heee! Hoe gaat t? k hoorde net op t nieuws dat er een hittegolf is in het zuiden van australie! En dat er veel bosbranden zijn in Adelaide!? Hou j t wel nog uit daar? Hier in Nederland hebben wij last van stormen en is het nog steeds koud en regenachtig... :-S

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Adelaide

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Augustus 2008

Back among the Dutch

14 Augustus 2008

One more time

08 Augustus 2008

More photos

02 Augustus 2008

Final week in NZ

24 Juli 2008

Rainy days make for long updates =)
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 194
Totaal aantal bezoekers 191031

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Februari 2008 - 16 Augustus 2008

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

05 Augustus 2004 - 01 Juli 2005

AFS exchange

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Life's journey...

Landen bezocht: