Part 2 - The Saga Continues... - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu Part 2 - The Saga Continues... - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu

Part 2 - The Saga Continues...

Door: Carine

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

26 April 2008 | Australië, Adelaide

It was only two days ago that I woke up in Melbourne, but upon waking this morning I found myself back in my own bed in my own messy room in Adelaide again after what seemed like both just two minutes and a lifetime away. It’s funny how that goes… But anyway, so the story continues as I arrived at the Corbetts Thursday night after three wonderful days on the road. Was good seeing them again :) A relaxing Friday day followed where I actually did a bit of studying as well outside on the back deck while enjoying the beautiful weather until it was time for me to repack my bag for the weekend that lay ahead. Barely 24 hours after arriving in Melbourne I was back on the road. With Kyle in the driver’s seat beside me, I was on my way to Venus Bay!! The two hour drive down gave us plenty of time to catch up on each other’s lives again, which was great as I hadn’t seen Kyle in months :) When we finally arrived at the beach house late Friday night we were greeted by Kyle’s fam and soon after went to bed to stock up on sleep while we still could…

Saturday was the day the weekend was all about: Kyle’s 21st birthday party. It meant lots of preparation activity throughout the day like setting up the tents for the guys to sleep in and setting up the music, but we also managed to get a bit of beach time in before people started arriving late in the afternoon. We were blessed with a bright blue sky and mid-twenties temperatures during the day all weekend, which made the beach a very good and relaxing place to be :) Love the beach!! And then the first few guests were arriving and slowly but steadily the crowd started growing from then on. The ‘snags’ were put on the ‘barbie’ for dinner, the house and backyard filled itself with the sound of people chatting and the speeches later that night had people laughing. It was a good night, even though I didn’t know most of the people there. A few guys from school were there though and I had some interesting conversations with newly met people, so I really enjoyed myself. I was also very happy to have a proper warm bed waiting for me at the end of the long and cold night though!! One of the benefits of arriving a day early, haha. Lovely night :)

Sunday morning the BBQ was fired up once again for some massive breakfast making for everyone. And just as slowly and steadily as the crowd had grown the previous day, the crowd was getting smaller and smaller as the day progressed. Some more relaxing at the beach was definitely in order, as the sky was still as blue as ever. Good times :) And then the big clean up began. But not before one final BBQ lunch with the fam, haha. Notice a theme there?? Around 5pm, Kyle and I finally made our way back to Melbourne, leaving behind a fun and relaxing weekend in Venus Bay :) Beach, blue skies, good times and good company… it’s a pretty good deal I’d say!!

The rest of my days in Melbourne were pretty good as well. Caught up with Kim over coffee one day and with Mel over lunch the next. Always great to see those two girls again :) Got debriefed about the latest developments in mum’s novel writing, which was interesting. I also went to the AFS info meeting on Tuesday night with Phoebe and caught up with some AFS people again… Wednesday night I passed the BBQ101 crash course when cooking steak and onions on the barbeque for dinner. Who said the stereotype of Aussies and BBQ was just a stereotype, haha. I reckon five BBQ meals within seven days is pretty much confirming the stereotype :) Anyway, Wednesday night was also the night of InsideOut plays Brunswick Hotel!! Me, Seth, his friend Jess and Monique’s entourage Damien and DJ joined dad and Monique to their gig to be the crowd. It was a great night of music, fun and huge muffins :) Got to love it…

Then Thursday morning it was already time to say goodbye and go back to Adelaide again!! Phoebe and I randomly ran into Jess on the train, which was a nice surprise :) And a few hours later I was back at Adelaide airport after a wonderful week and a half away, waiting for my J7 bus to take me back to campus. (Yes, I know what you’re all thinking, but this time I did catch the right J7 bus… Sightseeing through the Adelaide suburbs once is more than enough, haha). That’s where I’ve been ever since, writing my Women Studies essay on gender and advertising. It’s a few busy weeks I’ve got coming up now as far as uni is concerned with quite some deadlines to be met, but in less than 8 weeks I’ll be completely finished :) Something to look forward to. Anyway, enough procrastinating… there’s work to be done!! All enjoy your (long) weekend and take care :)
Love Carine

  • 01 Mei 2008 - 13:37

    Annet:

    Dag Carine,

    Leuk om te lezen wat je allemaal onderneemt en meemaakt. Het blijft verrassend.

    Groeten,
    Annet

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Adelaide

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Augustus 2008

Back among the Dutch

14 Augustus 2008

One more time

08 Augustus 2008

More photos

02 Augustus 2008

Final week in NZ

24 Juli 2008

Rainy days make for long updates =)
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 210
Totaal aantal bezoekers 191024

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Februari 2008 - 16 Augustus 2008

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

05 Augustus 2004 - 01 Juli 2005

AFS exchange

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Life's journey...

Landen bezocht: