A different week... - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu A different week... - Reisverslag uit Adelaide, Australië van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu

A different week...

Door: Carine

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

11 Juni 2008 | Australië, Adelaide

Had I written this update last week, it would have been totally different. Had I written it last week, it would have been more about the Village Music Night in May and how good it felt to be on that stage, singing my own songs. How it felt like one more step forward in overcoming my fear of singing in public. It would have been about my housemate Sarah’s birthday parties and how much fun they were. I would have mentioned that I had been a bit sick for a while – headaches and a bad cold and cough – but that I’m doing better now. Something along the lines of having been really busy with uni work would definitely have been in there, as the semester is drawing to a close and I had my final classes last week. It would be about the random maccas runs for ice-cream with the roomies or watching them play netball on Thursdays and how all the random nights out on the town or just staying in the village with a few friends over are making it harder to leave every day. There would have been at least a full paragraph on the day spent at Jenny’s place with all my fellow Global Citizenship exchangees, and the tour she and her husband gave us around Urrbrae high school, as that is where they lived. I would have said how much I enjoyed the day and how amazed I was by the high school, as it had its own farm with cows, pigs, alpacas and sheep, its own native animal enclosure, its own winery, its own car garage, its own high-tech industrial design area equipped with the latest machinery… and that’s only what we got to see on our tour.

I am not writing this update last week though, I am writing it here and now. Last week, everything was pretty much the normal stuff my life here in Adelaide is made of. This week, everything’s different. This week, all the stuff I would have written about a week ago doesn’t seem so important anymore. A week ago today, my grandma suffered a brain haemorrhage and last night she let go of life and passed away. Although the initial shock of the news that my grandma was taken to hospital had faded into the background a bit more during the past week, I did not quite know what to do with myself today. Even though I knew it was coming and even though it is for the best, it doesn’t make it any easier to know that I won’t see my grandma again when I go back to Holland and that I won’t be at her funeral for a final goodbye. This week, my most important news is not what I’ve been doing over the past few weeks, but that the world – my world – is a different place because it no longer has my grandma in it. I’ll miss her.
xx

  • 10 Juni 2008 - 19:08

    Froukje:

    Hey Carine, nogmaals sterkte met dit verlies. Liefs

  • 10 Juni 2008 - 21:31

    Papa En Mama:

    Dag Carine,

    Even een traantje wegpinken. We missen je.

    Liefs

  • 11 Juni 2008 - 01:47

    Mum:

    She looked like a beautiful woman, Carine, and so happy sitting beside you. I am sure she was very proud of you and your travels. She knows where you are and that you are missing her. All my love. Mum xxx

  • 11 Juni 2008 - 14:22

    Melly:

    Hey gorgeous girl,
    Just wanted to let u know that Im still thinking of you and I love u lots. I'm so sorry for your loss, but I'm sure she is watching over you, you're an amazing, young woman, and your words, even in times of pain are beautiful, delicate and capture your mood in the most intriguing way! Your in my prayers, Love Melly xoxoxo

  • 11 Juni 2008 - 21:58

    Annet:

    Carine,
    Ik zal je missen bij de Avondwake en de Uitvaart.
    Je bent ver weg, maar toch zo dichtbij.Veel sterkte.
    Liefs

  • 12 Juni 2008 - 23:13

    Kim:

    xox

  • 13 Juni 2008 - 14:01

    Ans :

    Hallo Carine,
    Wat kun je mooi schrijven. Ik kan me zo voorstellen dat het niet meevalt om nu zo ver weg te zijn. Heel veel sterkte!
    Hartelijke groet van ons allen,
    Koos, Ans, Emely, Renée, Marte en Ilse.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Adelaide

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Augustus 2008

Back among the Dutch

14 Augustus 2008

One more time

08 Augustus 2008

More photos

02 Augustus 2008

Final week in NZ

24 Juli 2008

Rainy days make for long updates =)
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 227
Totaal aantal bezoekers 191029

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Februari 2008 - 16 Augustus 2008

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

05 Augustus 2004 - 01 Juli 2005

AFS exchange

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Life's journey...

Landen bezocht: