How time flies and leaves footprints everywhere - Reisverslag uit Utrecht, Nederland van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu How time flies and leaves footprints everywhere - Reisverslag uit Utrecht, Nederland van daisydownunder - WaarBenJij.nu

How time flies and leaves footprints everywhere

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

04 December 2012 | Nederland, Utrecht

It's amazing how time flies sometimes. I can't believe it's been just over two months since I wrote my last blog. Just like I can't believe it's been just over two months since I started setting up The Footprint Challenge - the project I mentioned I was about to start with 7 others last time. Sometimes it seems like it has taken up my life and it's everywhere I go. All of a sudden I'm hyper-aware of lights being on while no one is in the room, of eating meat (which I don't even do that much anyway) and 'exotic' or out-of-season fruits & veggies, and of the heater burning high. All of a sudden I see this beautiful group of people at least once every two weeks, while I didn't even know them at all just over two months ago. All of a sudden I'm learning about building websites and discovering your potential and using your personal network and how incredibly frustrating it can be to set up a project from scratch when you have no experience in it whatsoever, but then something works out individually or as a team and it gives you just the boost you need to keep going. Because in the end, despite all the bumps in the road we've had so far and are sure to have in the next two months as well, I think it's still pretty awesome what we're doing =)

Even though it sometimes feels like it, my life hasn't actually been all about The Footprint Challenge in the past two months though. For instance, I had a weekend at the beach with my fam, celebrating my parents' 35th wedding anniversary. We had surprisingly good weather considering the predicted forecast of rain all weekend, so it was lovely to walk along the shore with the wind in your face and the sound of the gently crashing waves in your ears. And I turned 26 not too long after that weekend, which I celebrated with my fam and my roomies. It doesn't feel too different to be 26, but it sounds old to me. Like I should have my life figured out by now, and not work the job I'm doing or still live in my 10 m2 room I've lived in for over 7 years now. I'd like to move into a bigger place where I can at least have a couch and a double bed, but with the hours I'm working now I just can't afford it, and finding another job is proving hard. On the other hand that's just the way it is right now, and that's okay too. I like my housemates and at least with my job at the city council I know I can do it longer term if I need to, and I still have plenty of time to dive into much more exciting and challenging projects like The Footprint Challenge on the side =)

Inbetween all that, I've worked, I've done fun stuff hanging out with friends, I've been sick twice, I've watched plenty of Friends episodes and right now I'm gearing up for another 'Better the World'-weekend (the traineeship out of which our Footprint project originated) this coming weekend and for the Sinterklaas celebrations I'm having with friends and family in the week after! I guess you can say I'm keeping plenty busy =)

So that's where my life is at at the moment! I'll try not to leave it another two months before I write a new blog again, but with my track record of the past, I can't promise anything... I hope you all know it doesn't mean I don't think of you often, because I do. Hope you're all keeping busy as well and that you're enjoying what you're doing. Would love to hear all about it, so feel free to leave a note! Keep well, my lovelies.
Much love.



PS. For those of you who I haven't spammed to death about The Footprint Challenge yet (most likely only the (honorary) Aussies amongst you), here's the link to our website if you want to know more: www.footprintchallenge.nl. And for the non-Dutch speakers: it's all in Dutch, but even if you don't understand any of it you can marvel at how professional it all looks and see our very cool logo ;)

  • 05 December 2012 - 00:53

    Mum:

    You are doing well. I'm not sure you ever feel like you've got your life sorted. :-) But it will be great to see you realise your potential on the work front. In the meantime, you're doing all you can.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Utrecht

Life's journey...

Recente Reisverslagen:

13 November 2016

Starting over

16 Februari 2015

Glow in the dark stars

13 Oktober 2014

For as long as I can remember

24 Juli 2014

Big jet planes

18 Juni 2014

Ten year anniversary
Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 391
Totaal aantal bezoekers 191008

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Februari 2008 - 16 Augustus 2008

Flinders exchange & New Zealand

05 Augustus 2004 - 01 Juli 2005

AFS exchange

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Life's journey...

Landen bezocht: